Sports By Maddie

Sports for and by young fans

Archive for February 2011

Indianapolis Pacers

leave a comment »

So now, that football season is over what else is there to watch? Well the Indianapolis Pacers season is a little bit more than halfway into its 34th year.

Indianapolis Pacers History: The first men’s basketball team for Indy was the Indianapolis Jets in 1948; they had a record of 18-42, that was their only season. The next Indy basketball team was the Indianapolis Olympians the following year. They won the NBA’a Western Division with a 39-25 record. They only played for four years.

Then after a 27 year gap with no team, in 1976 the Pacers where created. The Pacers had a hard time when they first started, only winning one season out of their first 13 seasons. After about a decade and a half of trying and not succeeding, the team finally began to play .500 games in the 1990s. By the 1995s, the Pacers had become one of the Eastern Conferences top clubs.

So from 1994-200 the Pacers had gotten to the conference finals 5 times, won two central division titles, and then advanced to the NBA finals in 2000.

This team as seen many hard times, but they are a hard working team. The Indy Pacers are really a team worth watching.

Tomorrow they will be playing at home against the Utah Jazz. They have only played this team once before (this season) and lost. Let us see if they can get back at them for the previous loss.


Written by maddiedeckers

February 24, 2011 at 8:14 pm

Super Bowl 45 Results

leave a comment »

This week was the week of Super Bowl 45 with the Green Bay Packers against the Pittsburgh Steelers and it was one to remember.

With the Packers, winning the coin toss and choosing to kick the game began.

First quarter: The Packers are the ones who get the first points of the game with an Aaron Rogers pass to Jordy Nelson (#87). Right when the Steelers get the ball back on third down. Ben Roethlisberger throws an interception and Nick Collins runs it back for a GB TD, now with the score 14-0 and still in the 1st quarter.

Now in the second quarter the Steelers finally get their first points with a FG. Then Jarrett Bush (#24) had his turn at grabbing an interception from Roethlisberger. Soon after that, GB got their third TD on a pass from Rogers to Greg Jennings for a total 21 yards. With 36 seconds left the Steelers, manage to get a TD throw to Hines Ward. Now with the score 21-10 it goes into halftime.

Halftime: Packers are winning 21-10.

In the third quarter, when the Packers get the ball first they cannot make any points out of it. Then the Steelers manage to score again with a hand off to Rashard Mendenhall with a TD. Score is now 21-17. Then Clay Matthews and Desmond Bishop force a fumble. Shortly after that, the Packers get another TD 28-17. Then the Steelers get a TD and a 2-pt conversion making the score 28-25.

In the fourth quarter the Packers get a FG. Now all the packers have to do is hold off the Steelers. Now with it being fourth down and five the Steelers have only one more chance to get a first down and still have a chance. However, they miss it and the Green Bay Packers take the win of 31-25 and are the Super Bowl 45 Champions.

So now, all I have to say is congratulations to the Green Bay Packers.

Written by maddiedeckers

February 7, 2011 at 6:01 pm

Posted in Football

2011 Pro Bowl Results and players

leave a comment »

This week was the 2011 pro bowl.


The NFC and the AFC’s best players go head-to-head for one final game.


The starting QB’s for the NFC were


Michael Vick (Philadelphia Eagles)

Matt Ryan (Atlanta Falcons)

Drew Brees (New Orleans Saints)


The starting QB’s for the AFC were

Philip Rivers (San Diego Chargers)

Peyton Manning (Indianapolis Colts)

Matt Cassel (Kansas City Chiefs)


Player’s numbers for the AFC.

Tennessee Titans:

93, 33, 26, 28, 83.

Indianapolis Colts:

98, 63, 18.

Baltimore Ravens:

93, 52, 92, 55, 7.

New England Patriots:

75, 31, 32, 70, 83, 72, 51.

Miami Dolphins:

91, 94, 92.

New York Jets

24, 60.

Houston Texans,

23, 44.

Denver Broncos

84, 24.

Jacksonville Jaguars

89, 24.

San Diego Chargers

68, 95, 17.

Cleveland Browns

73, 55.

Kansas City Chiefs

25, 82, 54, 29, 7.

Oakland Raiders

80, 9.

Buffalo Bills



Player’s number’s for the NFC

Chicago Bears

90, 23.

Atlanta Falcons

33, 34, 84, 77, 55, 20, 88, 14, 2.

Dallas Cowboys

82, 65, 93, 52, 19, 90, 94, 1.

Detroit lions


New Orleans Saints

73, 51, 77, 41, 9.

New York Giants

76, 26, 91, 51.

Carolina Panthers

69, 11, 24, 67, 52.

San Francisco 49ers


Washington Redskins

98, 23, 59.

Minnesota Vikings

28, 56, 26.

St. Louis Rams


Arizona Cardinals

11, 90, 24.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers


Philadelphia Eagles

2, 7.


In the end, the NFC takes the win over the AFC 55-41. However, it was fun to watch the top NFL players play for one last time before next season..


Next week will be Super bowl 45 with the Pittsburgh Steelers and the Green Bay Packers playing in Dallas, Texas.